Text Only: Yes | No

National Marine Fisheries Service, Alaska Regional Office

Alaska Federal Fisheries Management - Sustainable Fisheries Division

About Sustainable Fisheries

pollock catcher/processor Cod end on the deck of a pollock catcher/processor. Photo: NOAA Fisheries

The Sustainable Fisheries Division (SFD) implements the policy objectives of the North Pacific Fishery Management Council and manages fisheries in the Exclusive Economic Zone off Alaska. SFD coordinates with the State of Alaska on development of fishery management and data collection programs, and the International Pacific Halibut Commission on development of regulations governing the recreational, commercial, and subsistence Pacific halibut fisheries off Alaska. SFD provides guidance to the Council and other management agencies on development, implementation, and monitoring of fishery management measures, and draft National Environmental Policy Act and other analytical documents to support management decisions.

To accomplish these objectives, SFD collects and manages catch data from North Pacific groundfish fisheries, develops and maintains information systems for integrating catch and observer data for estimating species-specific total catch, and uses that data to manage fisheries to ensure that catch does not exceed established quotas. SFD also develops, maintains, and installs electronic shore-side logbooks and software supporting the interagency electronic reporting program, approves catch monitoring plans, certifies at-sea processor scales, and provides current and historic fishery statistics to other government agencies and the public, while maintaining the confidentiality of protected statistics.

Commercial Fishery News

Fishery Regulations

Fisheries Research

Associated Programs


Contact Information

JUNEAU
PO Box 21668
Juneau, AK 99802-1668
PH: 1-800-304-4846 - #3
or (907) 586-7228

Sustainable Fisheries Org Chart

Rebecca Campbell
Administrative Assistant
PH: (907) 586-7228
Email: Rebecca.Campbell@noaa.gov

Gabrielle Aberle
PH: (907) 586-7356
Email: Gabrielle.Aberle@noaa.gov

Rachel Baker
PH: (907) 586-7425
Email: Rachel.Baker@noaa.gov

Patsy Bearden
PH: (907) 586-7008
Email: Patsy.Bearden@noaa.gov

Sally Bibb
PH: (907) 586-7389
Email: Sally.Bibb@noaa.gov

Obren Davis
PH: (907) 586-7241
Email: Obren.Davis@noaa.gov

Mary Furuness
PH: (907) 586-7447
Email: Mary.Furuness@noaa.gov

Jason Gasper
PH: (907) 586-7237
Email: Jason.Gasper@noaa.gov

Brandee Gerke
PH: (907) 586-7650
Email: Brandee.Gerke@noaa.gov

Susan Hall
PH: (907) 586-7462
Email: Susan.Hall@noaa.gov

Mary Alice McKeen
PH: (907) 586- 7322
Email: Mary.Alice.McKeen@noaa.gov

Ann Marie Eich
PH: (907) 586-7172
Email: AnneMarie.Eich@noaa.gov

Gretchen Harrington
PH: (907) 586-7445
Email: Gretchen.Harrington@noaa.gov


Jeff Hartman
PH: (907) 586-7442
Email: Jeff.Hartman@noaa.gov

Josh Keaton
PH: (907) 586-7519
Email: Josh.Keaton@noaa.gov

Seanbob Kelly
PH: (907) 271-5195
Email: Seanbob.Kelly@noaa.gov

Alan Kinsolving (Flagstaff, AZ)
PH: (928) 774-4362
Email: Alan.Kinsolving@noaa.gov

Glenn Merrill
PH: (907) 586-7228
Email: Glenn.Merrill@noaa.gov

Jennifer Mondragon
PH: (907) 586-7010
Email: Jennifer.Mondragon@noaa.gov

Peggy Murphy
PH: (907) 586-8743
Email: Peggy.Murphy@noaa.gov

Ben Muse
PH: (907) 586-7234
Email: Ben.Muse@noaa.gov

Karen Palmigiano
PH: (907) 586-7091
Email: Karen.Palmigiano@noaa.gov

Julie Scheurer
PH: (907) 586-7111
Email: Julie.Scheurer@noaa.gov

Cathy Tide
PH:(907) 586-7471
Email: Cathy.Tide@noaa.gov

Jennifer Watson
PH: (907) 586-7537
Email: Jennifer.Watson@noaa.gov

Steve Whitney
PH: (907) 586-7269
Email: Steve.Whitney@noaa.gov

DUTCH HARBOR
Krista Milani
PH: (907) 581-2062
Email: Krista.Milani@noaa.gov

KODIAK
William Donaldson
PH: (907) 481-1781
Email: william.donaldson@noaa.gov