Text Only: Yes | No

National Marine Fisheries Service, Alaska Regional Office

Aleutian Ilands coral garden, photo: Bob Stone

Habitat Conservation Division

NMFS' Habitat Conservation Division (HCD) works in coordination with industries, stakeholder groups, government agencies, and private citizens to avoid, minimize, or offset the adverse effects of human activities on Essential Fish Habitat (EFH) and living marine resources in Alaska. This work includes conducting and/or reviewing environmental analyses for a large variety of activities ranging from commercial fishing to coastal development to large transportation and energy projects. HCD identifies technically and economically feasible alternatives and offers realistic recommendations for the conservation of valuable living marine resources. HCD focuses on activities in habitats used by federally managed fish species located offshore, nearshore, in estuaries, and in freshwater areas important to anadromous salmon.

Alaska Program Information

sea anemone

HCD Contact Information


Anchorage Information:
Carrie Williams
Administrative Assistant
NMFS Alaska Region
PO Box 43
222 West 7th Ave., Rm. 517
Anchorage, AK  99513-7577
PH: (907) 271-5006
Fax: (907) 271-3030
Email: Carrie.Williams@noaa.gov

Jeanne Hanson
Assistant Regional Administrator
PH: (907) 271-3029
Email: Jeanne.Hanson@noaa.gov

Erika Ammann
Restoration Ecologist
PH: (907) 271-5118
Email: Erika.Ammann@noaa.gov

Matthew Eagleton
PH: (907) 271-6354
Email: Matthew.Eagleton@noaa.gov

Brian Lance
PH: (907) 271-1301
Email: Brian.Lance@noaa.gov

Doug Limpinsel
PH: (907) 271-6379
Email: Doug.Limpinsel@noaa.gov

John Olson
PH: (907) 271-1508
Email: John.Olson@noaa.gov


Juneau Information:
Mary Goode
Administrative Assistant
NMFS Alaska Region
P.O. Box 21668
709 West 9th Street
Juneau, AK 99802
PH: (907) 586-7636
Fax: (907) 586-7358
Email: Mary.Goode@noaa.gov

Cindy Hartmann Moore
PH: (907) 586-7585
Email: Cindy.Hartmann@noaa.gov

Linda Shaw
PH: (907) 586-7510
Email: Linda.Shaw@noaa.gov

Sue Walker
PH: (907) 586-7646
Email: Susan.Walker@noaa.gov