Endangered Species Act (ESA) - Section 7

Section 7 of the Endangered Species Act (ESA) outlines the procedures for Federal interagency cooperation to conserve Federally listed species and designated critical habitat.

Section 7(a)(1) directs the Secretary of Commerce/Secretary of the Interior to review other programs administered by them and utilize such programs to further the purposes of the ESA. It also directs all other Federal agencies to utilize their authorities in furtherance of the purposes of the ESA by carrying out programs for the conservation of species listed pursuant to the ESA.

Under section 7(a)(2) of the ESA, Federal agencies must consult with NOAA Fisheries on activities that may affect a listed species. These interagency, or section 7, consultations are designed to assist Federal agencies in fulfilling their duty to ensure any action they authorize, fund, or carry out is not likely to jeopardize the continued existence of a listed species or result in the destruction or adverse modification of designated critical habitat. In fulfilling these requirements, each agency must use the best scientific and commercial data available.

ESA Regulations - Section 7 and Critical Habitat

Section 7 Consultations - Interagency Cooperation

Critical Habitat Regulations

  • Code of Federal Regulations: Title 50 - Wildlife and Fisheries
    • Part 226 - Designated Critical Habitat
    • Part 424 - Listing Endangered and Threatened Species and Designating Critical Habitat

ESA Species

Petitions for an ESA Listing Action