Cost Recovery and Fee Programs

See the Fee Payment page for information on how to pay your cost recovery fee. 

The Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act (Magnuson-Stevens Act) authorizes and requires the collection of cost recovery fees for the Community Development Quota (CDQ) Program and limited access privilege programs. Limited access privilege programs are those that allocate a percentage of the total allowable catch of a fishery for exclusive use by a person. Cost recovery fees recover the actual costs directly related to the management, data collection, and enforcement of the programs. The Magnuson-Stevens Act mandates that cost recovery fees not exceed 3 percent of the annual ex-vessel value of fish harvested by a program subject to a cost recovery fee.

Cost recovery programs

  • AFA, Aleutian Islands pollock, Amendment 80, CDQ (effective Februrary 4, 2016, 81 FR 150)
  • BSAI Crab (effective April 1, 2005, 70 FR 10174)
  • Central GOA Rockfish (effective December 27, 2011, 76 FR 81247)
  • Halibut/Sablefish IFQ (effective March 15, 2000, 65 FR 14919

Other fee payment programs

How the fees are calculated

While each cost recovery program is adapted to each fishery, the general process NMFS uses to calculate the annual cost recovery fee is as follows:

  1. Determine the standard price for each fishery species allocated under a program. 
  2. Calculate the ex-vessel value of each fishery species allocated under a program by multiplying the standard price by the total amount of landings in each fishery under the program. 
  3. Calculate the total ex-vessel value of all fisheries landed under a program by adding together the ex-vessel values of each fishery species under the program. 
  4. Calculate the total program cost by adding together the costs of managing each fishery species under a program. 
  5. Calculate a fee percentage for a program by dividing total program costs by the total ex-vessel value for all fishery species under the program. 
  6. Calculate the fee amount that will be assessed for each permit holder by multiplying the fee percentage by the permit holder’s total ex-vessel value of the fishery landings under the program. 

Standard prices and fee percentages

NMFS annually publishes the standard prices and fee percentage for each program in the Federal Register.