Text Only: Yes | No

National Marine Fisheries Service, Alaska Regional Office

Steller sea lions, photo: Dave Csepp

Polar Bears, Sea Otters and Pacific Walrus

The Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA) of 1972 gave the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) responsibility for the management and conservation of all but three species of marine mammals in Alaska. The MMPA gave the Department of Interior (DOI) management responsibility for polar bears, walrus, sea otters, manatees and dugongs. The DOI U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), Region 7, Alaska, Marine Mammals Management Office is responsible for management of the three Alaska species: polar bears, sea otters, and Pacific walrus. To find out more about polar bears, sea otters, and Pacific walrus, please see the USFWS's website.

Southwest distinct population segment of the northern sea otter

← Protected Resources